Configuration of BlackBox

Usage of the framework, compiler and tools

Configuration of BlackBox

Postby Zinn » Tue May 29, 2018 2:55 pm

There is a limited configuration of BlackBox by adding a /use directory.

I would like to separate my own subsystems from the original BlackBox system. So I miss a to add another directory which contains my own subsystems.

1. Working directory: D:\Project contains my daily used files
2. Library directory: D:\Library contains some subsystem from CPC or subsystems written by my own
3. System directory: D:\BlackBox contains the original BlackBox files

The working directory is added via run parameter with /USE
How to add the library directory? Also with a run paraemeter (e.g. /LIB) or via a command inside BlackBox?
The system directory is defined via the start up directory of BlackBox.exe itself.

The search order is working directory first, library directory second and Blackbox system directory third.
All compilation and changes are stored in the working directory.
When BlackBox started without /use then all changes stored in the original directories system or library itself.

Any comments about this request?
- Helmut
Zinn
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2014 10:47 am

Re: Configuration of BlackBox

Postby luowy » Wed May 30, 2018 3:15 am

agree, and I also need a "/SUB" option which accept a sub directory!
luowy
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2015 1:32 pm

Re: Configuration of BlackBox

Postby DGDanforth » Wed May 30, 2018 3:34 am

I have a top level "Project" menu item under which i have all of my projects listed.
Each project has a "Notebook", a "Docu", a "Mod", and a "Rsrc" listing.
I get everything I need that way without having to create /SUB or /LIB configurations.

Doug
User avatar
DGDanforth
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 1:16 am
Location: Palo Alto, CA, U.S.A.

Re: Configuration of BlackBox

Postby luowy » Wed May 30, 2018 5:24 am

DGDanforth wrote:I have a top level "Project" menu item under which i have all of my projects listed.
Each project has a "Notebook", a "Docu", a "Mod", and a "Rsrc" listing.
I get everything I need that way without having to create /SUB or /LIB configurations.

Doug

Interesting! Can you explain it more detail?

luowy
luowy
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2015 1:32 pm

Re: Configuration of BlackBox

Postby Josef Templ » Wed May 30, 2018 6:33 am

luowy wrote:agree, and I also need a "/SUB" option which accept a sub directory!


What is the /SUB option supposed to do?

- Josef
Josef Templ
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 6:50 am

Re: Configuration of BlackBox

Postby luowy » Wed May 30, 2018 7:14 am

Josef Templ wrote:What is the /SUB option supposed to do?

- Josef

/SUB D:\github\jtempl\http\Http
a single sub only
luowy
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2015 1:32 pm

Re: Configuration of BlackBox

Postby Josef Templ » Wed May 30, 2018 2:17 pm

luowy wrote:
Josef Templ wrote:What is the /SUB option supposed to do?

- Josef

/SUB D:\github\jtempl\http\Http
a single sub only


And what is the meaning of it?
I mean what is the difference to /USE D:\github\jtempl\http
or /USE D:\github\jtempl\http\Http ?

- Josef
Josef Templ
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 6:50 am

Re: Configuration of BlackBox

Postby luowy » Wed May 30, 2018 3:54 pm

commonly, a lib(path) may contain many subs,but I only need one of them;
I had to copy it to a separate path to ignore others; it's not convenient when it is in a state of active development;

ooh, I think you can ignore this option, It's just useful in some situations(testing)!

the /LIB option maybe useful, but can be achieved by expanding /USE option instead of add new one;
luowy
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2015 1:32 pm

Re: Configuration of BlackBox

Postby DGDanforth » Sat Jun 02, 2018 4:05 am

Project Dropdown.jpg
Dropdown from top level menus

QmProject.jpg
A specific project

I have folded some of the entries to fit on one page for you to see.

luowy wrote:
DGDanforth wrote:I have a top level "Project" menu item under which i have all of my projects listed.
Each project has a "Notebook", a "Docu", a "Mod", and a "Rsrc" listing.
I get everything I need that way without having to create /SUB or /LIB configurations.

Doug

Interesting! Can you explain it more detail?

luowy
User avatar
DGDanforth
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 1:16 am
Location: Palo Alto, CA, U.S.A.

Re: Configuration of BlackBox

Postby luowy » Thu Jun 07, 2018 3:07 am

thanks, Doug!
If i understand correctly,you put all subs in a single dir, together with origin framework,
but i think it's not what we look for; I prefer use a separate directory for each task, Include as few subs as necessary;
use a bat file to launch bb client, easy to maintain;

luowy
luowy
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2015 1:32 pm

Next

Return to Common questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron