Robert wrote:I am porting some of my files to 1.7, which is quite a big job. It is surprising how often I made the "IN" to "VAR" error, which is now being detected!
One immediate problem is I can't get CpcDropDown to work. Am I missing something obvious, or is there a problem here? It compiles fine.
Compatibility with 1.7
- Ivan Denisov
- Posts: 359
- Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:21 am
- Location: Krasnoyarsk, Russia
Compatibility with 1.7
Re: Compatibility with 1.7
here is the solution about CpcDropDown:
Add two times the line
Dialog.Call("CpcDropDown.MakeDropDowns", "", res);
1. Module Std/Mod/MenuTool.odc in the procedure UdateAllMenu
2. Module System/Mod/Config.odc in the procedure Setup
and it works.
- Helmut
Add two times the line
Dialog.Call("CpcDropDown.MakeDropDowns", "", res);
1. Module Std/Mod/MenuTool.odc in the procedure UdateAllMenu
Code: Select all
PROCEDURE UpdateAllMenus*;
VAR view: Views.View; t: TextModels.Model; s: TextMappers.Scanner;
loc: Files.Locator; res: INTEGER;
BEGIN
InitNotifier;
loc := Files.dir.This(sysDir); IF loc = NIL THEN RETURN END;
loc := loc.This(rsrcDir); IF loc = NIL THEN RETURN END;
view := Views.OldView(loc, menuFile);
IF (view # NIL) & (view IS TextViews.View) THEN
t := view(TextViews.View).ThisModel();
IF t # NIL THEN
s.ConnectTo(t); Scan(s);
noerr := TRUE; showerr := TRUE; gen := FALSE; ParseMenus(s, view, loc, menuFile);
IF noerr THEN
s.SetPos(0); Scan(s); gen := TRUE;
HostMenus.DeleteAll; ParseMenus(s, NIL, NIL, ""); HostMenus.InitMenus;
Dialog.Call("CpcDropDown.MakeDropDowns", "", res);
ELSE
Dialog.ShowMsg("errors detected in menu file");
END
END
ELSE Dialog.ShowMsg("cannot open menu file")
END;
includes := NIL
END UpdateAllMenus;
Code: Select all
...
OleData.Register("", "OleData.ExportPicture", "METAFILEPICT", "", {});
Dialog.Call("CpcDropDown.MakeDropDowns", "", res);
Dialog.Call("ToolbarStd.PutToolbar", "", res);
Dialog.Call("StdLog.Open", "", res)
END Setup;
- Helmut
Re: Compatibility with 1.7
Thanks. It works for me too.Zinn wrote:Here is the solution about CpcDropDown:
Add two times the line Dialog.Call("CpcDropDown.MakeDropDowns", "", res);
...
and it works.
I should have read the Quick-Start! The last time I read it was probably 2004.
Actually I am not very happy about your suggested change to the Module StdMenuTool; the suggestion in the Quick-Start that this line is added to the Dev Menu item seems to be better than altering a standard source code (Mod) file. (Except for System/Mod/Config, which one expects to customise to suit your own configuration). Is there a reason to alter this Mod file?
Re: Compatibility with 1.7
… but you prefer to search the whole day, why the menu is not working.Robert wrote:Actually I am not very happy about your suggested change to the Module StdMenuTool ...
Yes, to make it more user friendly. How to explain novice user the menu is not working after “Info -> Update Menus”. You have to execute an additional command (which one?) or leave BlackBox and restart it for using the menus again. Even expert user may not remember this.Robert wrote: Is there a reason to alter this Mod file?
When my proposal has not been discarded this discussion would not exist.
- Helmut
- Ivan Denisov
- Posts: 359
- Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:21 am
- Location: Krasnoyarsk, Russia
Re: Compatibility with 1.7
It is strange to assume the existence of any concrete extensions in the universal framework. It is not good design idea.Zinn wrote:When my proposal has not been discarded this discussion would not exist.
Re: Compatibility with 1.7
Somebody would like to have this kind of extension to the menu and somebody not. So what? You haven't to install CpcDropDown if you don't like it. When it isn't allow to do such kind of extension then I have to withdraw also this subsystem.
- Helmut
- Helmut
- Ivan Denisov
- Posts: 359
- Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:21 am
- Location: Krasnoyarsk, Russia
Re: Compatibility with 1.7
Strange logic. We can think about some hook for menus update. But it should not be related to any specific extension.Zinn wrote:Somebody would like to have this kind of extension to the menu and somebody not. So what? You haven't to install CpcDropDown if you don't like it. When it isn't allow to do such kind of extension then I have to withdraw also this subsystem.
-
- Posts: 261
- Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 6:50 am
Re: Compatibility with 1.7
Can somebody summarize what the problem with CpcDropDown is?
I mean, "explain" the problem, not repeating the required source changes.
I am also using CpcDropDown but did not experience any problems when migrating to 1.7.
- Josef
I mean, "explain" the problem, not repeating the required source changes.
I am also using CpcDropDown but did not experience any problems when migrating to 1.7.
- Josef
Re: Compatibility with 1.7
There is no problem with CpcDropDown.Josef Templ wrote:Can somebody summarize what the problem with CpcDropDown is?
I had a problem because I had not installed it properly (as described in its "Quick-Start"). I was in the process of copying my files into 1.7, and in the intermediate state that some updated Menus wanted to use it, but I had not yet updated the Menu that enabled it, there was an apparent problem.