Blackbox installation

All except GUI problems

Blackbox installation

Postby rpanson » Sat Dec 09, 2017 7:19 pm

Blackbox installed to Windows 10 with no error messages. However, upon startup, using the desktop icon, a message of insufficient resources appeared and McAfee Antivirus Plus quarantined the executable. After removing from quarantine the same sequence happened. The program is unusable.
rpanson
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2017 7:04 pm

Re: Blackbox installation

Postby Ivan Denisov » Sun Dec 10, 2017 9:01 am

Dear rpanson, can you try another distribution, please
https://blackbox.obertone.ru/unstable/m ... -setup.exe
from my fork project
https://blackbox.obertone.ru/download
It seems that anti-virus software gives less false-positive alarms for it.
User avatar
Ivan Denisov
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:21 am
Location: Krasnoyarsk, Russia

Re: Blackbox installation

Postby rpanson » Wed Dec 13, 2017 7:36 pm

Ivan Denisov wrote:Dear rpanson, can you try another distribution, please
https://blackbox.obertone.ru/unstable/m ... -setup.exe
from my fork project
https://blackbox.obertone.ru/download
It seems that anti-virus software give less false-positive alarms for it.


Yes, that started up immediately. Thank you.
rpanson
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2017 7:04 pm

Re: Blackbox installation

Postby Robert » Fri Dec 15, 2017 10:17 am

rpanson wrote:The program is unusable.

Which program, BlackBox or McAfee?

More seriously, it is hard to blame one program when another (and McAfee is not the only one) makes an error; in this case a false positive.
With many virus checkers (I currently use Windows Defender) it is possible tell them not to reject specific files or locations.
This is not very convenient, but it does make the Center version usable.
User avatar
Robert
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2013 11:04 am
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: Blackbox installation

Postby rene » Wed Jun 27, 2018 11:07 pm

I have also needed to faight against Windows Defender: configuring several exceptions to get BlackBox installed.

It is still worse when you come to install a blackbox application you have packed and configured as a self extracting executable. I have reported these false positives to antivirus developer, but have not get an answer. Would be so nice to achieve selfextracting applications running smoothly.
rene
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 10:51 am

Re: Blackbox installation

Postby Robert » Thu Jun 28, 2018 9:19 pm

rene wrote:I have also needed to faight against Windows Defender: configuring several exceptions to get BlackBox installed.

I also use Windows 10 & Windows Defender.
At the end of last year I had a lot of problems (as did other people to judge by reports.)

In recent months I have had no problems. Defender initially disallows new versions, but gives me the option to run it. After I select that, no issues.
User avatar
Robert
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2013 11:04 am
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland


Return to BlackBox Framework

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron